Suffering a personal injury while working can be a life-altering experience. After an injury on the
job site, many aren’t able to go back to work for a long period of time. It’s important to
understand Missouri’s laws regarding workers’ compensation in order to know your rights and
what steps you should take after suffering an injury on the worksite.

Missouri Workers’ Compensation Benefits
Missouri workers’ compensation pays the following benefits:
● temporary disability benefits
● permanent disability benefits
● death benefits
● reasonable and necessary medical treatment, and
● mileage to and from doctors’ appointments.

State law limits your benefits and the insurance company does not have to cover all your losses.

For example, injured workers cannot receive compensation for physical and emotional stress (called “pain and suffering”) through workers’ compensation. Missouri also caps weekly workers’ comp benefits.

To receive these benefits, you must file a Missouri workers’ compensation claim.

What Injuries Are Covered?

An injury must have risen out of and in the course of your employment. All injuries must meet the standard of the accident or occupational exposure.

Injuries where there is an unknown cause, or most injuries that occur when the employee is going to and from work, are not covered.

Steps to Take When Injured On The Job

Step 1: Report Your Injury

Report any injury immediately to your supervisor or your employer. Failure to report your injury within 30 days of an accident or from the date of your diagnosis may hinder your ability to receive workers’ compensation benefits.

You may want to notify your employer in person, as well as in writing. Be sure to include the nature of the injury, where and when it took place, and your name and address.

You will want to ask your superior if there is an Accident or Injury Report form available to employees. If so, use it. Keep a copy of the notice you give your employer for your records.

Step 2: Medical Treatment

If you need to see a doctor for treatment as a result of your injury on the job, you should tell your employer that you want to see a doctor. Under Missouri law, the employer has the right to select the treating doctor in workers’ compensation cases. Your employer or supervisor should arrange medical treatment and file the necessary reports with the Missouri Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC).

Step 3: Find Legal Counsel

After suffering from any work injury or disease, you may feel like you want to find legal counsel.

This is most effective if you find a personal injury attorney in Missouri as close to the event as possible. Your attorney can guide you through the process and help assist you in attaining all documents you will need.

Sticklen Dreyer Tinney, P.C. has over 45 years of experience getting our clients the settlement or compensation they deserve. In 2016, we were listed as a Law Firm 500 Award Honoree as one of the fastest-growing law firms in the United States. We have seen so much success and growth through our ability to achieve quality results for our clients. We have received more than $100 million in settlements and judgments for our clients.

Our personal injury and workers’ compensation lawyers in Joplin MO and Columbia MO are ready to help you get the workers’ compensation you deserve!